Black Sabbath Will Release The First Box Set Of Tony Martin-Era Recordings, ‘Anno Domini 1989-1995’

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Rhino Records has excitedly announced the upcoming release of the ‘Anno Domini 1989-1995’ box set, scheduled to drop on May 31. This announcement was made via an Instagram post, heralding the first-ever collection to spotlight the Tony Martin period of Black Sabbath, covering the years from 1989 to 1995—a significant chapter in the band’s storied history as pioneers of metal.

The box set titled ‘Anno Domini 1989-1995’ will showcase four pivotal albums from the era of Tony Martin’s tenure with Black Sabbath. This collection includes the albums: ‘Headless Cross’ from 1989, ‘Tyr’ released in 1990, ‘Cross Purposes’ from 1994, and ‘Forbidden’ from 1995, which features mixing by the legendary Tony Iommi.

Fans can look forward to the box set being available in both a four-LP format and a four-CD set, with some of the albums making their vinyl debut. The CD collection is enhanced with three bonus tracks that are exclusive to this set. Additional treasures within the box set include remastered versions of the four albums, exclusive tracks, a booklet packed with photographs and artwork, liner notes penned by Hugh Gilmour, a poster from ‘Headless Cross’, and a replica of the concert booklet from the ‘Headless Cross’ tour.

Reflecting on the production of ‘Forbidden’, Tony Iommi and members from Body Count, including Ernie C and Ice-T, initially faced dissatisfaction with the sound production. Iommi expressed his discontent with the guitar sound, and noted that Cozy Powell, the drummer, was equally unhappy with the drums’ sound. Seeing an opportunity for improvement, Iommi aimed to enhance the production to better align with what fans expect from a Black Sabbath sound, without altering the songs themselves.

Instagram post here.

Write A Comment